Opinion on Avatar Change

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Thondalar Stormleaf on Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:36 am

Some of you might have met my character, Lannael. The high elf warlock. The one which IC looks more or less like a woman and obsessed with clothing and fashion.

I've been considering for some time now to do a ooc avatar change into a female, as that would fit a lot more, shape wise. Those of you who have met Lannael knows he is small, girly and has it not been for a tiny soul-patch beard and the lack of breasts, he could be mistaken for a girl. And he IC gets mistaken for a woman all the time.

Currently the muscly human male form is -nothing- like how he is at all, and it annoys me a bit.

So what I am asking is: What is you guys's opinion of it? Would it be too silly to ooc change the avatar?

Thondalar Stormleaf

Posts : 777
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 29
Location : Manningtree, England

Character sheet
Name: Simaria
Title: Little Wolf

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Coppersocket on Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:03 am

I'll sum it up in a single word:

Penis

Coppersocket

Posts : 2240
Join date : 2010-07-14
Age : 29
Location : Silverlavia Borders

Character sheet
Name: Mineral Coppersocket
Title: Street Sweeper, Jeweler

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Officer High Morale on Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:11 am

I'll say don't do it, just pretty much because of the breasts. Although, I can see a
female being OOCly male.

Officer High Morale

Posts : 625
Join date : 2013-11-14
Location : Finland

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Demurral on Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:26 pm

Lannel - Im sure that will be fine, just make sure it says its a feminine guy! Smile

On a somewhat related note - is there anyway to hide messages from a single user across all boards?

Demurral

Posts : 675
Join date : 2010-09-26
Age : 24
Location : Cornwall, England

Character sheet
Name: Greyclaw
Title: Witch of the Wilds

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Amaryl on Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:28 pm

do you mind being taken as a girl by everyone you meet? considering most people dont read rsps.

If the answer is yes; don't do this.

if the answer is no, then do what you want.

Amaryl

Posts : 2876
Join date : 2010-08-25
Age : 28
Location : The Netherlands

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Feral / Blackfall on Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:30 pm

Throwing my opinion in for the forum, though Thaldir already knows it: I find anything not visible on the avatar irritating. I won't make a fuss about it, but it's a mild pet peeve. Missing limbs/robotic limbs, High Elves in general rp'd by humans, people of the wrong race or gender.

The exception being the one dude who walked past with a wolf mask and a growth pot and emoted "is a worgen IC but too poor to pay for race change," that was absolute gold.

Feral / Blackfall

Posts : 575
Join date : 2010-06-05
Age : 33

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Thondalar Stormleaf on Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:43 pm

Amaryl wrote:do you mind being taken as a girl by everyone you meet? considering most people dont read rsps.

If the answer is yes; don't do this.

if the answer is no, then do what you want.

I don't mind, no. It's kind what amuses me the most, when people actually read my current trp and see that he looks like a girl, and they IC assume he is a girl. I love that, its funny as hell.

Thondalar Stormleaf

Posts : 777
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 29
Location : Manningtree, England

Character sheet
Name: Simaria
Title: Little Wolf

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Jeanpierre on Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:12 pm

Heck, JP is a frail, scrawny fella and yet he's looking like he could go around knocking doors and ask for Sarah Connor.  

The thing with the avatars is... They are neutral in a way. Sure, they don't look like some characters ought to look, but they are neutral. You could take the most buff human model and pretend it's a short fat man and nobody would break their head over it. You might have people stumble over it when you choose a different gender/race just because you feel the features are closer to what your character looks like.

That said, I don't see this ruin my immersion one bit Razz

_____________________________________________________
Geldar wrote:I squealed like a girl

Jeanpierre

Posts : 2314
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 35
Location : Stormwind Cathedral

http://www.disciplesoflight.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Officer High Morale on Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:14 pm

Demurral wrote:Lannel - Im sure that will be fine, just make sure it says its a feminine guy! Smile

On a somewhat related note - is there anyway to hide messages from a single user across all boards?

Add Foe in Profile section.

Officer High Morale

Posts : 625
Join date : 2013-11-14
Location : Finland

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Garrett on Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:20 pm

Feral / Blackfall wrote:The exception being the one dude who walked past with a wolf mask and a growth pot and emoted "is a worgen IC but too poor to pay for race change," that was absolute gold.

I was forced to do it. No

Also, Thaldir, I'd personally go for it, in my opinion it's easier to disregard two breasts than a whole body full of muscles, and I'm straight, I think.

Garrett

Posts : 141
Join date : 2014-04-18

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Officer High Morale on Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:11 pm

Meh, all the muscles don't show under the clothes, whilst a pair of breasts do.

Officer High Morale

Posts : 625
Join date : 2013-11-14
Location : Finland

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Thondalar Stormleaf on Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:31 pm

The wide shoulders and huge arms still do show though. Same with the wide jaw face. And wide, muscular chest.

Thondalar Stormleaf

Posts : 777
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 29
Location : Manningtree, England

Character sheet
Name: Simaria
Title: Little Wolf

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Feral / Blackfall on Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:15 pm

Garrett wrote:
Feral / Blackfall wrote:The exception being the one dude who walked past with a wolf mask and a growth pot and emoted "is a worgen IC but too poor to pay for race change," that was absolute gold.

I was forced to do it. No

It really was amazing. I know it was ooc but I was still dying laughing <3

Feral / Blackfall

Posts : 575
Join date : 2010-06-05
Age : 33

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Ren Winter on Sat Aug 30, 2014 9:49 am

I say go for it Lann since come WoD the char models change and such you can always try it and change it back if it doesn't work out.

Ren Winter

Posts : 27
Join date : 2012-01-23
Age : 28
Location : Denmark

Character sheet
Name: Ren Winter
Title: Captain

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Crowley on Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:51 am



The exception being the one dude who walked past with a wolf mask and a growth pot and emoted "is a worgen IC but too poor to pay for race change," that was absolute gold.


lol'd

Also I wouldn't make the change.

Crowley

Posts : 46
Join date : 2012-11-19
Age : 25
Location : Latvia

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Thondalar Stormleaf on Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:18 pm

Garrett wrote:I'm straight, I think.

:3

Thondalar Stormleaf

Posts : 777
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 29
Location : Manningtree, England

Character sheet
Name: Simaria
Title: Little Wolf

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Garrett on Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:37 pm

I never said that!

Garrett

Posts : 141
Join date : 2014-04-18

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by erwtenpeller on Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:52 pm

Don't do it. Keep it a male.

erwtenpeller

Posts : 6481
Join date : 2011-06-03
Age : 30
Location : Netherlands

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Thondalar Stormleaf on Sat Aug 30, 2014 4:42 pm

After spending some time thinking off it I made the change. IC he looks no different, as he always was supposed to look like a girl. OOC he got changed to a woman. If I feel that I'm not happy with it, I'll just change it back. Worst thing that happens is that I've lost 30 euro.

Thondalar Stormleaf

Posts : 777
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 29
Location : Manningtree, England

Character sheet
Name: Simaria
Title: Little Wolf

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Lexgrad on Sun Aug 31, 2014 4:58 am

Crowley wrote:


The exception being the one dude who walked past with a wolf mask and a growth pot and emoted "is a worgen IC but too poor to pay for race change," that was absolute gold.


lol'd

Also I wouldn't make the change.

Very Happy That is funny. I raided with 2 shammies and one of them won the Dark Shaman outfit. The next week the other shammy had a home made dark shammy outfit made from greens and a wolf helm!

And yeah dont make the change.

Lexgrad

Posts : 6140
Join date : 2011-03-12
Age : 34

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Dareil Sin'Valor on Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:24 pm

Roll a male belf. :-)

Dareil Sin'Valor

Posts : 73
Join date : 2012-11-19

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on Avatar Change

Post by Sponsored content Today at 8:22 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum