Your opinions on this.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Your opinions on this.

Post by Scrimjaw on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:22 am

Hey, hoping this is the right part of forum as couldn't find a better place for it.

I recently made a ticket to blizzard regarding a name I wasn't able to use on the realm. Well here is the SS of that ticket and the answer I got:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Although it made me chuckle, I wasn't entirely sure as to why it would be such a bad name to have on an RP realm. The only thing that crossed my mind is if it brought up connotations of something else other than wow to the RP players mind. Well wondering what others here think of it, let me know!

Thanks, Scrim.

Scrimjaw

Posts : 9
Join date : 2014-03-11
Age : 28
Location : England

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Helmut on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:44 am

Well, "data" is a thing that exists in Azaroth.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Now, it might be that its a referance to nerdy Star Trek bullshit but going by those rules then there are a lot of names that you can't have. But as "Data" is a well known Star Wars Star Trek character the name can be placed under the rules of WoWs naming policy:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Consist of any references to the real world, including people and places (Britneyspears, Newyork, Austinpowers).

Helmut

Posts : 842
Join date : 2012-04-19
Age : 25
Location : Stockholm, Sweden

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Littlepip on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:46 am

Laughing 

I find it pretty funny and understandable as this is a roleplay realm and you should keep to logical names that can be used in roleplay. (Data still works on gnomes.)

_____________________________________________________
[A](Littlepip)Littlepip {Azure Flame} An elven mage under the tutelage of Skarain.
[A](Ploppy)Bavragor Stormbrew {Mountaineer} Deceased.
[H](Ríno)Rino Peddlebuttons {Flying Bolts} A cliché Goblin.
Distracting Image:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

"We don’t always get what we want. Even when we deserve it."

- Fallout: Equestria - Project Horizon. Blackjack.

Littlepip

Posts : 1373
Join date : 2013-02-11
Age : 20
Location : Norway, Sør-Trøndelag, Rissa komune.

Character sheet
Name: Littlepip
Title: Runemage

http://the-adventures-of-roleplay.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by siegmund on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:49 am

I guess if you bring it up with the fact that Data is a thing by the item Helmut linked and persuade em that you're making a gnome with a refrence to gnome things or something well, who knows!

siegmund

Posts : 2082
Join date : 2012-04-08
Age : 23
Location : Slovenia, Ljubljana

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Sadok on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:51 am

I would hazard a guess that actually saying you wanted the name to make a Trek reference may have prompted the denial.

Given that we seem to have most of the remainder of the TNG crew on board:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] (level 1 - profile not available)
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] (level 15- profile not available)
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Sadok

Posts : 275
Join date : 2011-05-03
Age : 24
Location : York, UK

Character sheet
Name: Sadok Sharptongue
Title: High Blade Thur'ruk

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Vardrek/Burgen on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:54 am

Aye the bastards stopped me from naming one of my Characters Persil as well as calling myself Bold

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Vardrek/Burgen

Posts : 323
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : Silverlavia, jewel of Quel'Lavia

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Scrimjaw on Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:59 am

Sadok wrote:I would hazard a guess that actually saying you wanted the name to make a Trek reference may have prompted the denial.

That could very well be it actually, maybe I shouldn't have given so much info as to why I wanted the name.

Scrimjaw

Posts : 9
Join date : 2014-03-11
Age : 28
Location : England

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by siegmund on Sun Jul 06, 2014 7:07 am

Probably or just spamed a whole wall of gnome.

siegmund

Posts : 2082
Join date : 2012-04-08
Age : 23
Location : Slovenia, Ljubljana

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Skaraa on Sun Jul 06, 2014 7:53 am

It strikes me as alittle odd how they allow names which are clearly not IC names within the given Warcraft setting like, I dunno...Scrimjaw... and not allow something which is also clearly not a valid name in the setting like Data.

No offence, I just found the reply of the GM kind of funny in that light. Neither are really 'names', but he denied the use of one on the grounds of RP but didn't bat an eyelid at the other.

Just to make clear, I'm not taking the piss out of your character name, I am sure it is either a nickname or just an identity based on the fact that most 'valid names' are taken. I just thought it was funny. Razz

Skaraa

Posts : 236
Join date : 2012-04-30
Age : 24
Location : Portsmouth, England

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Scrimjaw on Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:29 am

None taken lol

I guess an RP name is all about context more than anything, and what you perceive when looking at it. A name on its own without any visual/spoken flavor to go with it in the end just makes it a word which can or can not give a sense of what that person is trying to convey. Although just my opinion of course, I did think Scrimjaw was a good undead name, maybe not so much now i have a human with it as well ^^

Scrimjaw

Posts : 9
Join date : 2014-03-11
Age : 28
Location : England

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Lexgrad on Sun Jul 06, 2014 9:44 am

The guidelines are as much for copyright as anything. Like if you call your char superman that will likely be changed, for the reasons as it belongs in a different world (tho Harrison Jones is fine for blizz...)

Data is likely vanilla enough to be ok normally but I guess in this case they cancel it for RP reasons. As you say looking at some of the names on DB I dont know why they even bother with Data when there is like warriorrofllol's et al running about.

Lexgrad

Posts : 6140
Join date : 2011-03-12
Age : 34

Character sheet
Name:
Title:

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Dyone on Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:32 am

made me giggle..that's my opinion Smile

Dyone

Posts : 134
Join date : 2012-11-05
Age : 28
Location : Klazienaveen/Netherlands

Character sheet
Name: Dyone
Title: Scientist

Back to top Go down

Re: Your opinions on this.

Post by Sponsored content Today at 11:19 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum